“Kaybots”

Mary Kay consultants are “lovingly” called “Kaybots” on many blogs by many people.  Is that a negative term?  I don’t take it negatively.  The term refers to the fact that most consultants are not truly “independent beauty consultants”.  Instead of using the tools they have, and ethically working the business creatively within the bounds of their contract, they blindly follow the leader, making us (in their eyes) cookie cutter consultants. 

A “kaybot” is a fair assessment of how we are percieved both by the outside world and by many ex-consultants.  The only way to change their perception is to change ourselves.   Will we still dress similarly?  Probably.  Will we still act similarly?  Maybe.  But if we change our ways to those of personal integrity and friendly business exchanges (meaning treating each other with kindness and respect), being a Kaybot will be something to aspire to, not a name to run from. 

I am not saying there are not awesome consultants and directors already out there, movin’ and groovin’…I’m just saying there must be an ounce of truth in the claims that we are all “Kaybots”.  Let’s make a concious decision to look inside ourselves and start making changes there, in order to make a positive impact on the image that we portray.

6 Comments

Filed under Leadership, MK Blogs, MK Lingo

6 responses to ““Kaybots”

  1. Colleen

    Just wanted to say hello and support your blog and say keep up the good work…

  2. Thanks!! I am obsessed…I really do want to use this to make a difference. I like all your comments on MKV also, you seem like a really good person.

  3. Colleen

    I try to be a good person..I KNOW this company has problems like any other company and I have to tell you this I have been hoodwinked by two directors in my time however they did NOT hold a gun to my head! One of them traded bad product with me and the other one got mad when I left. I found a really NICE
    director and I want my orders to go in HER product she talked to me when I was inactive and called maybe once a month. I didnt expect her to talk to me every week she has other fish to fry.
    Thank god we have positive sites around here. Dont get me wrong I know that Pink Truth and some of the anti sites exist for a reason and Im not slamming them but there is a place and a time for everything and I think taht for those of us who are still in MK we dont need that much negativity. Good to have them there to get things straight and to keep us in the loop and I hope they make a difference but there is no need for some of this animosity that is going on and the childish comments that are made at the expense of some innocent consultants and directors.
    Just my take on it Im not slamming anyones board,,I think this one and MK Voices is more my speed. My postings were deleted on pink truth anyway…good to have a haven to come to

  4. Yeah, I like pink truth just for the MK current events, but it gets a little personal and mean. I like to think I am positive, but still realistic.

    I think my director just knows I know what is up and doesn’t think she needs to recognize me too much. Plus, I am active but sometimes I am not doing too much. Although I got a new team member last month! I just take things very personally from her for some reason. I need to just realize that she is usually busy with her personal biz (that is a good thing) and her new unit members or DIQs.

    I am so glad you like the site! Keep your great comments coming! We can be a great site to HELP consultants.

  5. Ԝonderful work! That is thhe kind oof innfo that are supposed to be
    ѕhared around the internet. Shame on Google for noo longer positioning this pot upper!
    Come oon over annԁ seek advice from my webite . Thank you =)

  6. Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok.
    I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

Leave a Reply

