ABCs of a Skin Care Class!

It’s ABC time again! Let’s do the ABCs of a Skin Care Class, from start to finish. I’ll start…

A is for Arrive early! MKC and my mentor, Rena Tarbet, always talk about “kitchen coaching”. This is where you arrive early and talk to the hostess about who’s coming, what they do, would they be good at MK, would the hostess be good at MK? Then you ask the hostess to watch you and see if she could learn to do what you do and that you can talk more about it after the class. This is why they call it Book (facial), Sell (at facial), Book (the SCC), Recruit (the hostess).

B is for Bookings! Get more bookings from this one by doing your individual closes and having a prize for your current hostess when she gets at least 2 or 3 bookings from her class. The guests will want to help her win!

C is for Closing! This is one of the most important aspects of a Skin Care Class. If you describe and have them try all the products, but never ask for the sale in by doing a table close (telling the prices of the sets) and then individual close, you will not sell half as much as you could have. Closing is key!

The next person has D… 🙂

29 Comments

Filed under ABC's of MK, Booking, Direct Sales, Is Mary Kay for me?, Sales techniques, Team Building

29 responses to “ABCs of a Skin Care Class!

  1. D is for Demos. We all know that a person is more likely to buy something if they can see it, feel it, smell it, etc. Especially if they can see the full-size product. But we don’t want to overwhelm our customers, either, so we really don’t need to show them EVERYTHING. I mean, for example, if you try to show all the different eye creams MK carries, the customer ends up getting confused. For a Skin Care Class, stick with the Miracle Set, for Glamour, stick with the Beauty 101 sets. As Mary Kay herself said, Keep It Simple, Sweetie!

    E is for Entertaining. While our primary job is to sell our items, we should also be entertaining as well. If you’re entertaining, people will like you. If they like you, they’ll buy more from you. If they REALLY like you, they may recruit, or at least provide referrals for you! Don’t be afraid to deviate a little from the “script” and do as MK Rules often states–Keep it Real! Be yourself! Try sitting down WITH your customers and do a Trading Faces glamour session. Using the Look cards, everyone gets to choose the Look for the person sitting next to them, so that part is easy, even for the guests. And as you sit down, say something like this, “Ok, so you all are going to see ME without MY makeup, too, so what happens at this table, STAYS at this table! Hee hee hee!”

  2. F is for Four Point Recruiting Plan. Don’t be afraid to ask the hostess. The plan is featured in the Mary Kay date book: 1. Before every appointment, ask your hostess, “Who is coming today who might be interested in doing what I do?” 2. Tell your heartfelt, enthusiastic I-Story. Share why you began your MK business and what it means to you. 3. Share the MK opportunity with at least one guest as well as with your hostess. 4. Offer your hostess a special gift for every person she suggests who becomes an IBC.

  3. G is for Games. Play some fun games and have some fun things to give away at your classes. If you still have nail polishes, these make a great give away game prize.

  4. H is for Hostess! Treat your hostess like gold and make sure she is excited about what she is winning. Ask her, “Are you excited about your hostess credit?”. If you get a “Uh, sure…” ask her, “What would excite you?”. Then find a way for her to get it. An excited hostess gets more people to the class and helps you sell based on her sheer enthusiasm!

  5. kahni

    I is for INSPIRE yourself first and then you’ll be primed to inspire guests at the class!

  6. J is for Just Keep it Simple! Remember your starter kit? The booklet or DVD about the SCC? Follow that and you will be golden! Make everything sound like YOU, but don’t try to reinvent the wheel. This is where I have gone wrong in the past.

  7. PINK BREN

    K is for Keep…Keep it simple…Keep it fun…Keep it on track…Keep it on time…Keep the golden rule…Keep the individual closings, this to MKR is where I have gone wrong too.

  8. sabrina

    L is for LOVE! Love your product, and Love what you are doing! It will show through. (and I personally LOVE my customers and sister consultants. If it wasn’t for Mary Kay I wouldn’t have gotten to know these amazing women!)

    M is for Master. Learn to master your skills and techniques…as we always say, become a “master booker” and a “master seller”. It should all come with practice and discipline, right?

  9. N is for No Shows. Always let the hostess know that you will be coming whether she has enough guests or not. Then you can always turn it into a double facial or facial. You can still get some referrals, too.

  10. O is for One on One Consultation. Make sure you meet with each guest one on one at the end!

  11. P is for principled: Be a woman of your word, both in showing up for the the class and in PREPROFILING (another P word). If you have a nice telephone voice, you can build an amazing rapport with the guests before they ever meet you.
    Q is for Q-Tips: Quit Taking It Personally! Some will, some won’t, so what, move on. OUR job is to get the product on their faces. Whether they buy, or book a class or follow-up facial, or take recruiting literature or NOT, we have done our jobs!
    R is for Romance: romance the products. People buy the “sizzle” … they can get steak anywhere, but how you sell it is what will make them buy.
    and that brings us to S

    “I am sold myself” makes selling so easy. Your enthusIASM and MK’s quality is what is going to bring you new clients for life!
    Thanx for supporting my business! (but I’ll let one of you start with the T’s smile kmh

  12. T is for Timewise! Focus on skin care to build repeat business and happy customers. When the skin looks good, the color looks great!

  13. U – Understanding the needs of the client
    V – Voicing your excitement for the products and opportunity
    W – Working classes with consistency

  14. Pink Biz

    X is for “X” out dates in your datebook to be ready to schedule those skin care classes! Know when you can or cannot book and hold classes. Be organized! Be prepared !

    Y is for Youthful looking skin by teaching women all about our Time Wise Anti-Aging Products!

    Z is for Zero in on the customer’s needs, questions, and desires. Make her feel important!

  15. a good skin care regimen always employ natural moisturizers and topical vitamins “

  16. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a colleague who has been conducting a little research on this.
    And he actually bought me breakfast due to the fact that
    I found it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this.
    … Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending time to talk about this issue
    here on your site.

  17. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author. I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will come back someday. I want to encourage you continue your great posts, have a nice day!

  18. My developer is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type
    on a number of websites for about a year and am
    anxious about switching to another platform. I have heard excellent things about blogengine.
    net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress
    posts into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  19. You’ve made some decent points there. I looked on the internet
    for more information about thee issue and found most individuals will go along with our views on this site.

  20. Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to mention that I’ve truly loved browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing for your rss feed and I am hoping you write once
    more very soon!

  21. Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using?

    I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs
    and I’m looking for something unique. P.S Apologies for
    being off-topic but I had to ask!

  22. We stumbled over here by a different web address
    and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see
    so i am just following you. Look forward to exploring your web page repeatedly.

  23. Wonderful site. Plenty of useful information here.

    I’m sending it to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious.

    And certainly, thanks on your sweat!

  24. Wonderful website you have here but I was wanting to know
    if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics discussed
    in this article? I’d really like to be a part of community
    where I can get opinions from other experienced people that share the
    same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know.
    Kudos!

  25. Its like you learn my mind! You appear to know so much approximately this, such as you wrote the e book in it or something.
    I believe that you simply could do with some percent to force the message home a little bit, but
    instead of that, this is excellent blog. A fantastic read.
    I’ll definitely be back.

  26. Fine way of telling, and pleasant article to obtain facts about my presentation subject,
    which i am going to present in university.

  27. Hi! I realize this is sort of off-topic however I had
    to ask. Does operating a well-established website like
    yours require a lot of work? I am completely new to operating a blog
    however I do write in my diary every day. I’d like to start a blog
    so I will be able to share my experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for brand
    new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

  28. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude!
    Thank you so much, However I am having difficulties with your
    RSS. I don’t understand why I am unable to subscribe to it.
    Is there anybody else getting the same RSS issues?

    Anyone who knows the answer will you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  29. Excellent way of describing, and nice ρiece of writing too obtain dɑta regarding my presentyation topic, which i am
    going to deliver іn university.

Leave a Reply

