Victim Mentality Quiz

When things don’t go your way, is it always someone else’s fault? Do you feel powerless over your own life and business?

Check out this article and the online quiz below it to see if you are a Champion or a Victim (in your mind…)

“Turning Victim Mentality into Champion Mentality”

Victim mentality. Do you have it? Not sure? Then let me ask you a few simple questions.

Do you find yourself saying, or thinking, any or all of these things on a regular basis:

“It’s not my fault!”

“I didn’t have time, or I haven’t had time!”
“I’m not a lucky person.”
“I never get what I deserve.”
You see, if you are prone to uttering these things, or even thinking them, then you are putting yourself in the role of the victim. This is the language that a victim uses. What a victim seeks to do is shift blame. They shovel blame off onto everybody but themselves. A person using this language is not seeking to learn from his or her experiences.

Ask yourself the following:

Why isn’t it your fault?

Why didn’t you have time or why haven’t you had time?
Why aren’t you lucky?
Why don’t you ever get what you deserve?
I’ll tell you why. There is a very simple answer to all of these maladies. You probably won’t like it. In fact, I know you won’t like it. But here it is:

You don’t want to take responsibility for outcomes. It’s much easier just to shift blame.

“Responsibility is the price of greatness.” Winston Churchill said that. Can you imagine what sort of position England would have been in during WWII if Churchill hadn’t stepped up? What if he’d decided: “Oh stuff this. I’m just going to find a quiet little place in the country where I can go and smoke my cigars and drink my scotch until this horrible mess just blows over. Let somebody else fill the breach. I’m out of here.” So many people think this way.

Anybody who ever achieved anything took responsibility for the outcome. Hey, you may not win the first time, or the second, or the third, or even the tenth time. You might not even win the fiftieth time! Colonel Sanders didn’t. Neither did Thomas Edison. Yet today we can all eat Kentucky Fried Chicken under an electric light (if we so wish!).

The point is – every time you fail you learn what doesn’t work. What does this allow you to do? It allows you to re-load and re-focus then move in another direction. Only a fool keeps doing the same thing over and over again yet expecting a different outcome. That formula has never worked and never will work. But that is what victims do.

I assume that you do not consider yourself a fool. But you could be sabotaging yourself by succumbing to victim mentality.

Life will continually teach you lessons. If you fail to learn these lessons then life will keep repeating them. A winner learns by experience. A victim refuses to learn, keeps doing the same things and keeps receiving the same outcomes.

If you keep making excuses for yourself instead of seeking solutions then you will always take on the role of a victim.

A victim mentality can be overcome. Keep trying. That’s all it takes. Find better ways to do things. Learn. You can turn victim mentality into champion mentality. All it takes is a willingness to learn and some discipline to keep trying.

This article comes with reprint rights providing no changes are made and the resource box below accompanies it.

About the author: Gary Simpson is the author of eight books covering a diverse range of subjects such as self esteem, affirmations, self defense, finance and much more. His articles appear all over the web. Gary’s email address is budo@iinet.net.au. Click here to go to his
Motivation & Self Esteem for Success website where you can receive his “Zenspirational Thoughts” plus an immediate FREE copy of his highly acclaimed, life-changing e-book “The Power of Choice.”

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=Gary_Simpson

Take this online quiz to see if you have been living with a victim mentality…

Click here to take the quiz

9 Comments

Filed under Affirmations, Real life answers

9 responses to “Victim Mentality Quiz

  1. Well, my score was a -4, and it says that the higher the score, the more likely you are to think of yourself as a victim.

    I have to agree, I don’t think of myself as a victim (I used to, back when I was a teenager), but I’m not where I need to be, either. But I can’t blame it on anyone but me. I know that I have to be the one to go hand my cards out (sometimes hubby hands out cards for me, but I don’t rely on him) and get bookings from my parties.

    But for some reason, something mentally is holding me back, and only I can figure out what it is. Is it a fear of no? A fear that people will look at me like I have the plague (a serious thing here in northern AZ because the GF&P are saying there’s an oubreak of the Plague in the prairie dog population).

    Maybe it’s a fear of yes. Of being teased by fam & friends about being an overachiever. Of course, that can easily be overcome by telling my dad, “Yeah, but my bike’s brand new and paid for. How much do you owe on your used one yet?”

    But seriously, I do honestly think that’s holding me back. After practically 28 years of settling for “second best” either because that’s all my family could afford, or because my self esteem didn’t think I deserved anything better, going for the TOP seems almost like a foreign concept to me.

    Don’t get me wrong, I’ve always been “up there” (A-Honor Roll in High school, and magna cum laude in college) but I’ve never been FIRST. Never the BEST. I’d like to be, but my mind is holding me back.

    There are all sorts of self-help to help people overcome their fear of failure, but how does one overcome a fear of succeeding?

  2. sabrina

    I usually try to only comment when I’m adding something to the conversation, but I have to say Romance, your comments are always great! I can relate to a lot of things that you say, but this is so accurate for me!

  3. Thanks, Sabrina.
    It’s nice to know I’m not the only one feeling this way! 🙂

  4. My score was -6 on the quiz. I often know things are my fault…but at times I am the “fool” who tries things the same way and expects different results.

  5. Pink Biz

    -14 was my score. That was a very enlightening article, especially for those that never admit to seeing themselves as the victim. Lots of those types exist. I turned my pitty party around years ago. Funny you mentioned “fool” mkrules. I really think that was me at one point in life ’cause I KNOW I expected different results and I couldn’t possibly have been part of the problem. I certainly wasn’t part of the solution either. It was only when I started being accountable for my actions. Ah, growing pains as I recall. I did mature after all! Now my daughter should be reading this…. for her sake.

  6. I scored -10. I know victim mentality types. They are drainers. You know what I mean? They are the ones when you say, “how are you doing today?” They will tell you everything going wrong at the moment. I’ve been having a lot of obstacles in my personal life lately, but I try to refrain from griping too much. Some venting is healthy, of course, but ultimately, we have to fix our situation ourselves even if some outside forces played a role (a role; not caused the whole collapse).
    I’ve just always been the type to troubleshoot and problem solve when life throws me a curve ball. And this entire year has been a true test of will!
    Loved the article and the quiz, btw. And MK Rules, I, too, have been guilty of doing the same activity and wearing myself into a rut. I’m in the midst of doing things differently in life and in MK. 🙂

  7. PINK BREN

    I scored a 2. I don’t want to be a victim been there done that and didn’t like it. I know that I try new things my family thinks that I am a little off OH WELL. I pretty much do what is best for my family and that is what really matters. I do have a little fear of success and I don’t know why I am working on that one and when I get there that will be great.

  8. What????

    How does a three year old who has been badly abused take responsibility for their actions? I don’t really how a poor child who has been abused can be responsible? I was looking for the answer of how to overcome the victim mentally for people who were violently abused as a child, but your blog doesn’t address those issues. Sometimes injustices happen to those who don’t deserve it. They still have to live the rest of their lives, but they don’t want to keep reliving the abusive situations of their past — which was no fault of their own. I’d like to know what to do? This blog didn’t address those issues. It absolutely makes no sense to me. Do you have any experience as a counselor?

  9. What????

    I forgot to mention my mother was diagnosed with a psychotic illness. They said it was schizophrenia, but I think she’s more of a sociopath. She never had any friends. How do you help those who grew up with parents who were abusive as well as psychotic? I can’t help it if she was in and out of mental institutions. But I can address any issues I may have had as a result of an unhealthy childhood. I can’t believe you want others to put the blame on themselves, when clearly sometimes people have been dealt a hand that seems unfair. I’d like to see you survive years of torment and abuse and you tell others, “Oh, it’s your fault. You’re going to take the blame.” Then you’d get a beating so bad you’d almost die. Just for talking like little kids normally do.
    Funny, I remember my abusers telling me that. This blog has some issues.

Leave a Reply

