The Back Burner

Well…I have taken a much needed break from blogging and from MK. I have been working 2 fine dining jobs and the holidays were hectic (of course). I have decided to put MK on the back burner for a bit. With budgeting, I no longer need the extra money that I used to need from my business. Hubby will return to Iraq in May for 18 months, and until then, I will concentrate on strengthening our relationship. After that, I may do something with my business, but until then, I will be focusing on improving my life and my home life.

I would love to contine this blog, but I really don’t feel right doing so since I am not going to be working my business. I would love if some of the regular posters would volunteer to post an article a week or so to keep up the blog…perhaps Shades, Anon, or Kahni…and any others who are regulars here and interested.

In other news, I have decided to begin another blog, totally non-MK related. It is called “The 3H Blog: Becoming Happy, Healthy, and Holy”. You can find it here . It will be a support group type blog for our individual goals for 2008. Check it out! My screen name there is “Miss 3H”.

I certainly continue to support each and every one of you in your MK goals and life goals. I will check in here and other MK blogs sometimes to catch up with you. Anyone interested in being an author here please comment here or email me at keeping_it_positive@yahoo.com.

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “The Back Burner

  1. The great thing about this business is that we can put it down and pick it back up whenever we wish! Keep your customers happy by calling them every couple of months and sending them the PCP mailing, and when you want to work at it again, you can just pick it right back up. That’s what I have done for the past year, and those reorders sure put a smile on my face. PLUS I really like my clients; we have become good friends over the years, so it is never a problem to visit them for tea, or I just drop off their orders in their mailbox, or have MK mail them direct if I am not going to be in their area for a while. Good luck with focusing on your relationship and keeping your Faith and Family first has always been a MK mantra. We’ll miss your input for a while, but hope you will “pop in” now and again to share your journey. kmh

  2. kahni

    Hi MKRules!

    Thank you so much for being a brave soldier’s wife and a gigantic thank you to your husband for giving so generously of himself to keep the rest of us safe. You will be in my heart and active in my prayers.

    Marriage is both one of God’s greatest blessings while being outrageously difficult at the same time. For what it is worth, I see your decision as a wise one for you right now. Best wishes!

    xoxo
    kahni

  3. MKRules,
    I had only recently stumbled across your blog a few weeks ago, and because of it I started my own at pinkcarnation.wordpress.com. I wish you the best and I understand when you feel you need to shift your priorities. I have been in and out of MK for almost 7 yrs. I am thankful they let us work this the way we want. As an ex-navy girl myself, my heart goes out to you as well, as I can imagine how tough it is for you to be without your spouse.

  4. There you are! I’ll email you, too. I’d be honored to contribute to your blog. 🙂 I’ll check out your new blog, too–and add it to my ever growing blogroll! 😀 Big Hugs to you!

  5. colleen

    Im sorry to see you go but I wish you all of the best!!!!! Ill go to your new blog.

  6. Dara

    Back burner huh? If I just had even a nickel for every time I’ve heard those words..and every time I do it makes me wonder if it is possible to combine a working MK business with life. I’ve said those words myself and yet I have worked a job that I HATE through the deaths of 2 parents, my MIL’s Alzheimers in which we were the primary caregivers, 2 kids and their assorted illnesses and challenges, 2 of my own surgeries, and a short, stress related separation from my husband yada, yada, yada and through it all I’ve trudged through traffic and into my company’s doors. Sometimes through clenched teeth and tears… but I still show up.

    Yet I don’t do that with my MK business. I’ve consistently given myself an out with the old “That’s the beauty of MK, you can put it down and pick it up whenever you want to” argument…. and of course the biggie ” I gotta live according to my priorities”

    Perhaps I’m going to have to begrudgingly admit that the naysayers are right. Mary Kay is okay to work in starts and stops, dribs and drabs, perhaps for a little pin money, but a solid consistently worked MK business can’t be a regular part of any well- lived life.

    Thank you for your work here. You’ll be missed

  7. kahni

    When it is right and we are in a safe place to launch, we will step up to the dreams our heart has sketched out for us. Only we (and God) know if we are whimping out or if we are being brave by taking some self-care time.

    I’ve still got your back, girl. I know you’ll be back!! Just for now, go and take what precious time you have left before hubby deploys with a confident and joyful heart. A friend loves at all times…

  8. Thanks, Dara. You know, I honestly have been evaluating my life and I just know I do not have the self-discipline to be a director. I do great work for a boss, my hubby, my family…on a dead line, under pressure, etc. However, getting myself to do things I know I need to just for myself …that is another story. In those cases, I am the ultimate procrastinator.

    Truth be told, I am just not a good seller. I have tried all the tricks of the MK trade and I have had a lot of fun…and most likely will try again in the near future. However, my sales have been inconsistent. The times I had to book were not when people wanted to book. Therefore, I had trouble getting the better parties that I needed. So even though I work the numbers, it seems the better quality leads were saying “no” and the lesser were booking. This lead to a lot of low-sales classes.

    Perhaps if I did not have another job that restricted my schedule and had me working on weekends, split shifts, etc. I would have been able to gain momentum. Just by sheer numbers, the few parties I did were never going to bring me the results I wanted.

    My advice is to shoot for anything you want in MK…but know this:

    –> You will have to work on the weekends. This is when “the rest of the world” is off. That is when they want to have parties.

    –> You will have to sell MK… the product and the opportunity. If you do not learn this with lots and lots of practice, you will not succeed.

    –> You will have to keep good records. If you are disorganized and hate the paper work involved with owning a small business, this may not be for you. You must learn to be organized.

    –> If you hate making calls, meeting new people, or doing presentations, you will have to learn to like it, or this may not be for you. That is the nature of MK.

    –> If you cannot afford inventory, it will create a lot more work for you and eat some of your profits. You will have to make deliveries or mail products after the party, taking up more time that initially planned. This is one thing that has been a burden on me. If you plan on doing MK long term, find a way to get inventory.

    Ladies, I sincerely hope those of you who enjoy doing MK as much as I have or more have success. You define what success means to you. Only you can know how much money you are happy with making and if MK is something you would want to make into a career.

    After graduating college later this year, I plan to pursue a career in corporate event planning or possibly another marketing job. I just cannot see getting my degree and never using it. Yes, there are drawbacks to corporate jobs. I’m sure of it. But I feel like I have to go for it and see how I do. MK WILL always be there when I want to use it to make some money…or who knows? Perhaps my goals will change and one day MK will be a career goal for me again.

    One part of MK that has been especially challenging for me is that you are utterly dependent upon others: your customers, new leads, your team. If one area falls short, it hinders my success. I think it is best if I try for a career in something where my merit and hardwork is rewarded so long as I do a good job. It seems sales is not for me.

    I don’t necessarily believe the nay-sayers as Dara says that MK cannot be part of any well-lived life. Who am I to say those in MK are not living life well enough for themselves? In fact, I think the opposite of Dara in this instance. If you work MK in starts and stops as I have so far, you will not get to the top. If you have time to make a consistent effort and are willing to continue that pace as a director, then you will reach your goals. And honestly, I am not ready to do that right now. That is my choice.

    So sorry to ramble on and on here ladies. I will be inactive next month, but I do plan on not terminating. Perhaps when hubby is in Iraq I will pick up MK again for fun and extra money. But school and my time with hubby are number one right now.

    I would love to see some of your personal, spiritual, family, weight loss, or other goals and support each other with those on my new blog: the 3H blog . Stop by and check it out! And hey Shades, what e-mail do you use for wordpress? I need that to make you an administrator. E-mail me, chica! 🙂

  9. Sorry to see you go, MKRules, you have been such an inspriration to me, even though I now bleed “lavender” instead of “pink”!

    Time is definitely a resource we must use wisely. My SIL spent 18 months in Iraq with the National Guard. She left a few weeks after her first nephew (my son) was born, then didn’t get to see him in person until he was 1 1/2! You could tell it was hard on her to know that when she left, Allan (named after her and my hubby’s late brother) was a small 7 1/2 lb newborn. And the next time she saw him, he was walking and talking and VERY interested in the Humvees!

    Enjoy and value your time with your hubby. As you know, 18 months is a long time and a lot can happen when he’s gone. MK isn’t going anywhere, and as you said, if you feel like picking up later, you can! If not, that’s ok, too!

  10. Dara

    MKRules I think your reality check questions were very good and right on the mark. I have been prayerfully evaluating my path in MK too. I love this business and loves sales, but like you I am a HUGE procrastinator ( with me though it’s not just in MK, it’s with everything) and here’s the biggie for me: I don’t like dealing with alot of other’s peoples’ drama, whining and complaints and angst on a long term basis. I am a good cheerleader on a short term basis, but at this point in my life I haven’t developed enough detachment skills in order to work with 30, 50 100 or more women and not let it get me down.

    Something else I have dealt with in my 5 year career with MK is the feeling that unless my goal is to go for it ALL (ie. Director and NSD ) then I’m not really living up to my potential. I give lip service to the idea that we each define our success in MK in our own way, but that thought is always nagging at me in the back of my mind.

    I had kinda decided to just focus on doing the work, selecting one weekly activity plan and one set of goals to work at each month ( instead of being distracted by every new contest or promotion out there) and let the chips fall where they may.

    Doing those effort based IPA’s ( remember me telling you all about those?) was really fun for me and brought me greater success than I have ever had, so I guess that should be my track to run on.

  11. Dara (and MKRules, too!), too many people fall into that “go for it ALL” mentality, and it doesn’t help to have everyone around you asking “Don’t you want to become a Director?” “Don’t you want us to be a national area?” “What do you mean you’re not going to be a star consultant?”

    It takes a very strong woman not to follow the “pack mentality” and assume everyone else’s goals as your own. I’m sure both of you may be getting those incredulous looks from others in your unit that you are following the path YOU choose in your business–not chasing DIQ or the car just because another consultant/director/corporate is telling you to.

    KMH is right, you can put down this biz (or any direct sales biz) and pick it back up whenever you want to. You can work your own pace, and take time off as you choose. That IS the great thing about direct sales. But you have to be strong in your convictions and stand firm on your reasons WHY you are working your biz (or taking a break) the way you want to. There will be many people saying “Are you SURE you don’t want to be a red jacket?” You have to understand your own WHY’s in life enough to be able to say, “Yes I’m sure–being a red jacket is NOT a part of my personal goals.”

    I think the WHY’s are a big part of how people get wrapped up on a business path that they really don’t want to be on. It is waaaayyy too easy to pick up someone else’s goal and reason if you don’t have one of your own!

    When I was in MK, I was pushing myself to earn the Vibe. I still have no idea why I was doing that–I don’t like GM cars (I drive a Dodge), the Vibe is waaay too small for my family, and I just don’t like red vehicles. The cash option didn’t thrill me too much, either. Nor did I relish the constant recruiting required to maintain the production. Yet I plugged away, eventually getting up to 9 team members. But the whole time I felt hollow, I didn’t feel like myself. I didn’t want the darn car, but everyone around me (even my hubby) was telling me how awesome it would be to have this “trophy on wheels”. But I love my Dodge–it’s a beautiful blue and it has a Hemi!

    Once I figured out this dream I was chasing wasn’t even mine, I stepped back and asked myself what did I want? It turned out that MK didn’t offer what I wanted–business plan-wise, monetarily, and personally. So I found something that DID offer what I wanted in a business plan, a product I believed in, something I can talk about that doesn’t make me feel self-conscious (for those of you who don’t know how talking sex can be less self-counscious than talking skin care–I have a hereditary skin condition which makes my skin dry, flaky, and I look like I have a constant sunburn. I hate drawing attention to it.) and I couldn’t be happier.

    For me, it was simply switching venues. For MKRules, it’s simplifying her life and spending time with her one-and-only before he has to go overseas. For Dara, it’s working her own IPA plan and putting blinders on so she won’t be swayed by every contest and prize dangled in front of her.

    Everyone has their own track to run on–it’s simply a matter of finding it!

  12. UPtowngirl2857

    Wow, I know what u mean. i havent been on your blog page in months. Things became hectic for me back in Oct. when i started a new job. Its my dream job and i slowly started not having time for Mary Kay as much as before. I actually decided to get started back up this month. Especially after my Sales Director called to check on me today. I gave myself 3 months off but decided i want to continue w my business…besides doing reorders since Oct.

    Good Luck, i thought it was just weird how your stoppin today and im starting up.

    Best Wishes!! love ya MK

  13. Will miss you here, but will visit your new blog. You are an awesome gal, don’t be too hard on yourself and know that you have made an invaluable difference to others on this blog.

    Enjoy school and your hubby these next few months, tell him we send thanks to both of you for
    your sacrifice.

    Have a wonderful 08!
    Hugs Angie

  14. MK4ME

    Stopping by to say thank you for the wonderful support you have provided so many. Right now, it I think you are making a very sound decision. Every second you can spend with that precious hubby of yours before you must be apart shouldn’t be wasted.

    Life is long a full of twist in turns. When I was younger I “played” MK for a few years. When I rejoined years later, I only joined to help a friend win her car (was #12) did nothing for 1 1/2 yrs, now I have been a director for over 13 years. So you just never know where you life will take you!

    Wish you the very best and as much as I keep promising myself, no blogging, I still indulge, so I will check out your other blog, especially since I tagged this year as “my” year. Getting fit and loosing some weight!!

    Have a great day.

  15. Even if you’re on the backburner, this blog rocks! I have offered you a Blog Award. Visit my blog to read more about it. 😀

  16. Best of luck MKRules. You’ve been an inspiration to many.

    I’ll be over to visit you at your new blog.

  17. PUR

    Good for you, MKR.

    You will do very well in anything else you endeavor. MLM is just an impractical go-nowhere exercise for 99% of those who invest their precious time and hard-earned money into it — so you have not failed in any way. Success is getting out without debt. Onward and upward!

    My best wishes to both you and your husband during this challenging time. May he be kept safe from harm, and returned to your side in peace. And may you have the strength to stand on your own and be a support to each other.

    Godspeed!

  18. PUR

    P.S. Watch out for folks who will try to suck you back into the “business” for no good reason that would actually benefit YOU. If you look at it from their perspective, it is hard to watch people leave the “opportunity” in droves because maybe that means it is not so great for everyone. But MLM truly isn’t for everyone, especially when it becomes just a weight dragging your time, money, and energy away from things that are more important in your life.

    Be strong and find your own way. I am cheering for you!!!

  19. PUR:

    Thanks for the well wishes. I may get active here again soon and definetly will not get terminated from my status. I have and always will do MK for my own reasons. I wouldn’t say I have ever been “sucked in”…I just chose to work my MK or not. My director does check up on me from time to time. So does my adopted. They are both being really supportive and sweet actually.

Leave a Reply

